PDA

View Full Version : Removing really heavy oxidation

Pandora
10-15-2003, 10:50 AM
Okay,

The proverbial friend of a friend has a nice black late 60`s, early 70`s Riviera that has pretty badly oxidized paint on the horizontal surfaces. To my eyes, it looks like it`s still in good shape, at least it`s all there. But it is really porous and grainy. What is the best way to get this back to normal?

I have plenty of experience with a PC, but none with an orbital, which is what I assume would be the easiest choice for this. I`ve been debating getting an orbital, but I don`t want to learn on this guys car. So I was thinking of trying to get it as good as possible by hand. What products would you recommend? Is this where a more abrasive clay would be beneficial? I`ve also debated trying some of my trusty AIO on it, but I can`t imagine it would help to level the surface. Is there any point in an aggressive polish and a wool pad on the PC, or will hand work accomplish more?

I have only been detailing cars in relatively good shape, things that 3M SMR and Menzerna`s polishes have been able to remove imperfections in, at least those visible in a halogen light. This is the first time I`ll be attacking something that really looks like it should be repainted. Any help appreciated, please let me know if I can clarify anything. Thanks!

Ben

Mantic6t9
10-15-2003, 11:19 AM
You may want to look into 1Z Ultra polish and follow it up with your Menzerna polishes. Why would you want to do this by hand if you have a PC?

Pandora
10-15-2003, 11:37 AM