PDA

View Full Version : Noob here, please critique my swirl removal plan

Pages : [1] 2

wifehatescar
10-12-2003, 10:02 AM
I`ve got some heavy swirling on my Milano red integra that my z5 did nothing on. Here`s my plan of attack, please lmk if you see any glaring issues (note the car has some Zaino on it already):

(use pakshap MF towels throughout)

dawn wash

3m FCRC 39002 by hand with pakshak foam pad

water/rubbing alcohol wipedown

3m SMR 39009 by hand with pakshak foam pad

water/rubbing alcohol wipedown

z1

z5

z2

additionally, I have 4 questions (sorry ;) ):

1. do I need to clay before the fcrc or will the abrasives clean the paint the same as clay?

2. what should I dampen the foam pad with? (distilled water, z6, ?)

3. Would another *3M* product ( i prefer 3m only since it`s readily available) need to be used after the SMR but before the zaino?

4. Is a red car considered dark or light??? The 39009 is for "dark cars"

Thanks! :bow :bow

fidelfs
10-12-2003, 10:57 AM
3m FCRC 39002 by hand with pakshak foam pad

I think you don`t need something abrasive as compound. Try something mild as Megs DACP.

3m SMR 39009 by hand with pakshak foam pad

This looks ok. but I don`t know if that product has fillers. If there are fillers they will disapear and the swirl comeback.

z1

z5

If you use Z1 don`t need z5 and vice versa.

1. do I need to clay before the fcrc or will the abrasives clean the paint the same as clay?

Don`t use the compounding but anyway you need to clay.

2. what should I dampen the foam pad with? (distilled water, z6, ?)

You can use distilled water before Zaino and Z6 when you are applying Zaino.

3. Would another *3M* product ( i prefer 3m only since it`s readily available) need to be used after the SMR but before the zaino?

3M Perfect-Itâ„¢ III Show Car Finishing Glaze, PN 39013

4. Is a red car considered dark or light??? The 39009 is for "dark cars"