PDA

View Full Version : Sealer Drying Time?

Todd Hayes
08-28-2003, 03:06 PM
Hello,

I have a daily driver that is not garaged and would like a recommendation on the time interval between paint sealer and applying wax. I read David`s article that suggests 12 hours, but is that mandatory? I want good results, but I am trying to determine if this is a process that needs to be done during weekends when the car can be kept in the garage.

I am new to autopia and currently use Mequiar`s Pro Line, Mothers, and 3M Perfect It products.

Thanks for your help,

Todd

Ryan
08-28-2003, 03:31 PM
The time that i suggest to my customers not to wash their car after sealer is around 2 days. I wont even try it if the weather is threatening.

Ryan

tommyd
08-28-2003, 03:33 PM
my supplier told me no water for 24 hours, which i take to mean "don`t even try waxing that baby in that time either!"

So if 24 hours is enough, 48 must be more than enough.

russ968
08-28-2003, 03:35 PM
Welcome Todd,

I wait about 24 hours before I apply either PS or Blitz on top of Classe SG.

Russ

Todd Hayes
08-28-2003, 04:04 PM
Thanks,

I appreciate your replies, and guess it is unanimous that waiting to wax is the proper methodology. I always wondered why my #7 seemed to disappear when I applied #26 or Mothers Carnuba immediately.

For those of you who use acrylic sealers, have you found that they last a lot longer than wax based sealers? I am considering Klasse for my daily drivers to cut down on the paint maintenance.

Todd

Accumulator
08-29-2003, 10:05 AM
Todd Hayes- Welcome to Autopia. *I* think there might be a little confusion here. The "sealer" you`re referring to is #7, right? As I recall, back in the `70`s it was called "Sealer and Reseal Glaze". I *THINK* some of your responses were assuming that by "sealer" you meant something like Klasse SG instead.