PDA

View Full Version : Could I be the one causing light scratches?????

p986s
08-24-2003, 10:58 PM
I am relatively new to detailing but have read and used the techniques discussed here. New car..no dealer detail..Klasse Twins..P21S...All light pressure front to back...2 bucket/2 lambswool mitts..Always MFs including applicators..Big Blue Waffle Weave laid on and removed........

Now I have used Pinnacle QD,applying with moist MF and removing with dry MF..light pressure.

Despite all of that, although my car looks great, very minor surface scratches are noticable (very dark metallic Blue).

Am I looking too closely or am I doing something wrong? Is it possible that the QD is causing the problem? Something tells me that I may be applying these scrathes due to the FOUR seperate but light applications of MF`s or Washing mitts each time I wash the car.

Thanks for any comments you may have!

Accumulator
08-25-2003, 09:25 AM
p986s - Nah, you`re NOT looking too closely! Rather, you`re to be commended for trying to get/keep your car as nice as you can. That`s the good news. The bad news is that yes, YOU are (somehow) causing the marring that you see. Lemme see...I`ll toss out some ideas, most of which will NOT be your problem, but I`ll try to cover the bases. Take what might be useful to you and blow off the rest. Keep in mind that some cars just have paint that is a LOT softer (or harder) than others.