PDA

View Full Version : My family, girlfriend, and friends call me a ******* regarding my new `03 IS300!

Pages : [1] 2 3

HybridKOOP
07-22-2003, 07:39 PM
Hello everyone... as you probably can see, I am a newbie to the site... and was astonished to find others around the world who are just as obsessed with cleaning their vehicles as I am! :bounce

I recently purchased a 2003 Lexus IS300 (in a very metallic deep-blue color), and after reading alot of posts on this site over the past week, I was pumped up to get a hold of some good products and begin a good base on the paint to keep it protected and shining for years to come.

My plans were to Dawn, clay, Z2, then S100 the car... I even contemplated picking up a new PC to have around for when I need it down the road.

Here is my dilemma. I have ran this plan by my family, my girlfriend.. and my girlfriends brother who owns a `02 BMW 330ci and they all swear that I am insane for using the clay, and ANY other product aside from a regular wax on a new car. They are all telling me that I`m about to dive deep into the layers of paint and wear it out before it`s even a year old. I try to defend myself and convince them that:

1) The clay will aid in removing contaminants from the boat ride over from Japan, and dealer products... leaving a clean surface prepped for the Z2...

2) That the Z2 is NOT an abrasive that will remove clearcoat layers...

3) That a "motorcycle" wax is fine to use on a brand new Lexus.

What do you all think about this? Do any of you see a legitimate arguement from their side? Isn`t my plan for the car safe and suggested by you all in an effort to keep the mirror finish that the car presently has since it`s new?

Any inputs appreciated. Thanks all! :xyxthumbs

- Louis

HybridKOOP
07-22-2003, 07:41 PM
By the way, here is a picture of my baby that I`m speaking of :D

http://www.endlesstrance.com/images/isrear1.jpg

C. Charles Hahn
07-22-2003, 07:48 PM