PDA

View Full Version : MF`s a gimmick? What someone is trying to tell me...

Pages : [1] 2

n2_space
07-18-2003, 11:03 AM
MF=microfiber. And it`s nothing but a gimmick. I`m not flaming here--I have a Bachelor`s degree in Textile Technology. The fibers in the yarn are smaller (hence the name.) The spaces between the fibers are smaller, so large dirt particles don`t get in there as much. This is why the manufacturers claim it`s better for your car. However, the particles are still on the surface of the cloth, so they abrade your paint even more than a nice clean 100% terry cloth towel, which allows the particles to migrate into the pile of the cloth, away from the car`s finish. In addition, when dirt and dust do get into the microfiber cloth, they usually stay near the surface, and they are harder to remove with conventional washing. The main reason why microfiber technology was developed and used in consumer fabrics was to improve hand (that`s the textile term for "how it feels") and drape characteristics.

??? Your thoughts? I said BS, I find MF`s to be better and less likely to swirl. :nixweiss

Nikon
07-18-2003, 11:09 AM
To me science and specifications are a helpful starting point. The results in real world application is what matters in the end. Someone can say my terry towels are technically better than my MFs all they want. I know from first hand experience that the MFs I use are better than the terry towels I use, in my application.

I think personal experience will tell you what you need to know.

n2_space
07-18-2003, 11:13 AM
Originally posted by Nikon

To me science and specifications are a helpful starting point. The results in real world application is what matters in the end. Someone can say my terry towels are technically better than my MFs all they want. I know from first hand experience that the MFs I use are better than the terry towels I use, in my application.

I think personal experience will tell you what you need to know.