PDA

View Full Version : New member with detail questions!!

Absolut
07-15-2003, 12:15 PM
EDIT: I am also very new to the detail scene as well... This is my first new car and want to take care of it. Any tips or tools would all be helpful. Plus if I need any additional products such as polishes, other waxes, etc.. Please post away!

Hey guys...

I am a new member and I had a few questions for you detail guys. I have a fairly brand new 2003 Mazda6S, silver. I bought it back in January and now with the nice weather I have been obsessed with keeping it clean and looking good. However, I am having trouble finding a good wax and cleaner to use.

Recently I went and bought Meguiars deep cleaning car wash and also their wax product (not the spray-on). It does a pretty decent job but I have heard that there are some better products that are available.

The biggest hype I have heard is S100. I just haven`t heard a bad thing about it and the pictures seem to speak for themselves. I have also heard that Zaino is just as good.

Here`s what I want:

- Something that`s easy to apply and take off.

- Keep the road tar off! Since my car is so light I also have a problem with road tar always showing up. I hate having to pick at it with my fingernail everytime I wash my car. I figured with a good enough wax and a couple coats of it woudln`t alow the road tar to stick.

- Price isn`t a big deal... The S100 and Zaino are all within my price range for wax and cleaners.

- I also want some ideas on a good car wash soap... What`s the best?

- I just want an easy to use wax and cleaner that can keep my silver baby looking brand new for years.

I know that there will probably be several die hard Meguiars, Zaino, S100 fans.. But just give me your brutal, honest truth of what`s the best.

Thanks in Advance for all the ideas!

Absolut
07-15-2003, 01:26 PM
27 views and no replies?

Somebody has to have some ideas!