PDA

View Full Version : PC vs Rotary

Pages : [1] 2

Rednsxe
07-07-2003, 06:58 PM
I`m really debating on on whether to get myself a PC7336 or a Rotary such as a Dewalt or Maikita. I know that the rotaries are very forgiving and my burn thru the paint. But then it does do it work properly when done right. I have seen the rotary in action by a pro today and the result was amazing.

But i have heard so many good things about the PC as well, how would these compare with the Rotaries, Can the PC actually do pretty good cutting on it. I know the PC don`t burn the paint as easily too. What i need is something that can really handle some pretty etched out surface. Mainly to take out swirls, if the PC can do a pretty good job, i might just get one. If not i`m considering a Rotary but just have to find surfaces to practice on.

One note is that i have no experience whatsoever to a machine.

BradE
07-07-2003, 07:02 PM
Get the PC.

Rotary buffers are not for newbies. Get the PC, learn how to use it, master it. It`s effective and safe. Then, you can think about a rotary down the road.

MBZ 500E
07-07-2003, 07:45 PM
I`ve used both types and in all honesty unless your planning to start a business the rotary will only be helpful initially. You can`t really use a rotary to apply wax and glazes, if you do you will have to be very careful not to burn the paint. A PC can do the initial work and you can safely continue to use it after your paint looks good.

imported_2wheelsx2
07-07-2003, 07:51 PM
i geot a pc 16 months ago..it was great in the beginign b/c i was learing only doing a few cars. mostly mine. but as more and more friends wantd their cars done it has forced my to consider adding a rotary to my tool box. not that the pc cant do most jobs i enconter but , im tired of doing dacp or FI2 and swirl free polish and it taking 3.5 to5 hours

jmsc
07-07-2003, 08:29 PM