PDA

View Full Version : Does this sound about right#2

Pages : [1] 2

71chevelle
07-05-2003, 10:04 PM
Well pretty soon i am going to be attempting this so i need some help. This is what my plan is but ANY recomendations are welcome and appreciated.This is after a nice dawning and claying.

+One coat of Meguires Dual Action Cleaner/Polish

+One coat of Clearkote Vanilla Moose Wax Hand Glaze.

+One Coat of Platinum Ultimate Paint Protection.

This is on my `71 Chevelle wich is a dark green color, almost black in the right light, with no clear coat and slight swirl marks and mars. I drive it everyday so i was also wondering how long this will last. I was planning on buyng one of those buffer things at wall-mart, Is this a problem. If so where can i get a cheap one? I wash my car about every 4 or 5 days and QD it. I am kinda new at this so ANY HELP is welcome as stated above. I am also 15 so take it kinda easy, just learning.THANKS:D

JasonC8301
07-05-2003, 10:16 PM
Wow, wish I had my license and a 71 Chevelle at age 15, I`m 19 now and getting my license Monday if I pass the road test.

Anyway. preprepared to DACP a lot. You will have to work it into the paint. Its not like a wax but you have to keep working in the DACP until a haze.

I would not recommend the polisher from Wal-mart. The Porter Cable DA polisher is a good choice.

The VM is a glaze, you would work it into the paint but not with pressure like DACP.

The PUPP is a sealant. little to no pressure and spread around and let haze. Really thin coat.

Jason

71chevelle
07-05-2003, 10:31 PM
yeah i put 1 thousand down on it and am paying for gas and parts and stuff. Not a bad deal.If you dont mind me asking why have you waited so long to get your license? But it sure is hot in Mississippi with no air condition!

How long do you think this process will take? I was figuring anywhere from 8-6 hours depending on the DACP.