PDA

View Full Version : Rotary Newb finds success with Poorboy’s help

Pages : [1] 2 3

awd330
08-19-2004, 10:48 PM
This thread could alternatively be titled something like, “Gosh, this rotary stuff isn’t so hard after all!” Today was my first experience with using a circular polisher. I’ve been using a Porter Cable Dual Action polisher for about 2 years, so I wasn’t totally unfamiliar with machine polishing a vehicle. However, I had never dared to try my hand with a rotary due to all the well known horror stories (burnt paint, holograms, torn off trim pieces, etc.). I only detail for fun, and most of the cars I work on are in pretty good condition. So, proficiency with a rotary wasn’t a skill that I really needed to develop. However, the opportunity arose to learn the craft from an expert. How could a DC member in good conscience pass that up? Did I mention that said expert also provided a beater test vehicle for a guinea pig? Bring it on!

Setting the stage:
The participants – awd330 (The Newb) and Poorboy (The Pro)
The tool - Makita 9227CX3
The guinea pig – a red, oxidized, water spotted, cobweb covered Lincoln that had been parked in the tall weeds for who knows how long

Here is a photo of the rotary – [Note: The pictured backing plate is not the stock part. It is an aftermarket flexible plate sized to properly fit Lake Country 7.5” Advanced (curved edge) pads. Thanks for the special order Dwayne!]

awd330
08-19-2004, 10:49 PM
Besides the rotary itself, I remembered to bring the following accessories:
An assortment of pads, backing plates, and connectors
Cotton terry weave towels
Microfiber work towels
S&W
SSR2.5
SSR2
SSR1
PP
PwC
Distilled Water in a spray bottle
50/50 Isopropyl Alcohol/Water mixture in a spray bottle

awd330
08-19-2004, 10:50 PM