PDA

View Full Version : Airbrush technique

Pages : [1] 2

2002 Maxima SE
06-12-2003, 07:01 AM
I have chip on my bumper all the way down to the plastic. Luckily, the car is black and so is the plastic.

I plan to airbrush it this weekend, but I have some questions:

1)Do I need to primer the chip or can I just sand it (since the bumper is plastic and not metal)?

2)How many passes can I make with an airbrush before I need to stop and let the area dry?

My plan is:

Mix one part touch up paint and two parts lacquer.

1)Mask with tape. Fill chip with paint from airbrush and allow to dry. (not sure how many passes to make before allowing to dry and repeating)

2)Repeat until it is level.

3)Un-tape and wetsand the area covering a few mm beyond the scratch.

4)Polish.

Any help or other websites you can provide would be helpful. I have tackled chips with the brush/toothpick technique before but this is my first time tackling with an airbrush.

2002 Maxima SE
06-12-2003, 08:21 AM
Thanks!

I guess having not used an airbrush before, I am a little worried about putting too much (where it runs) or two little (where it is freckled). I`m going to practice on a piece of cardboard to get my technique.

Is the 2:1 ratio of thinner to paint to much? I have read about mixtures 2:1 and 1:1 but it seems to be personal thing. I figured the thinner I could get it to go on, the better chance I have of getting a good fill and match for my paint.

endus
06-12-2003, 08:38 AM
Wow an airbrush...I never even thought of that!

I have touch up paint....I have a compressor....

HMMMMMM!

I would guess that you would want to paint it as slowly as possible...i.e. do the lightest coats possible and wait between coats.

If anyone knows about thinning ratios and the ratio for the clearcoat that would be awesome...this might be worth a try...

endus
06-12-2003, 08:42 AM
Also (sorry to post whore) what brand of airbrush do you guys use?

tetz
06-12-2003, 08:46 AM