PDA

View Full Version : Comments on My Process Please

Nikon
05-27-2003, 08:11 PM
I have been detailing cars for a number of years and am self taught. After many years of trial and error (15 years ago when I first used a rotary I learned an important lesson on how to burn paint) I have become fairly good IMO. I am always trying to improve and on one of m quests for information I came upon this website. Very informative and I know I can learn a lot from the excellent detailers on this forum.

So to get things started I would like to recieve your opinions on my current exterior detailing method. I washing with Mequiar`s #62, then use Mequiar`s overspray clay bar with Mequiar`s #34 (as you might have guessed I currently use Mequiar`s products almost exclusively). I then use my PC (Mequiar`s yellow pad) and Mequiar`s #2 to clean and remove spider marks and swirl marks. I follow this up with SMR2.0 using the PC and a yellow pad. Depending on my mood and and available time I will apply Mequiar`s #7 with the PC and yellow pad (note I have dedicated pads for each product) before applying either Mequiar`s #26 or MGC.

In the past I have tended to use very low speeds on the PC and now that I have read a bit about this here I will try using higher speeds.

Any comments. I am generally pleased with the results I get but I am always looking for improvements. Besides I just bought my first black car and I want to crank up my technique a notch for this new challenge.

shaf
05-27-2003, 08:36 PM
Welcome to Autopia Nikon. :welcome

Glad to have more experienced enthusiasts here too - it really helps with the learning curve and adds more to the knowledge base. I think your process is okay, but I`d be inclined to use Meguiar`s beige (finishing) pad with #7 rather than another polishing pad. Some people may suggest the purple cutting pad with #2, but I don`t know since I don`t use #2 and it may depend on how bad the swirling is that you`re fixing anyway. HTH!

Nikon