PDA

View Full Version : Never too old to learn -- Sealants vs. wax, etc.

tguil
05-21-2003, 09:31 PM
This forum has raised more questions in my mind about detailing than I care to think about. I’ve been messing with detailing since 1961 – Blue Coral on a very nice Corvair Monza. I moved on to using Meguiar’s products in 1970 on a black Olds Cutlass at the recommendation of a body shop tech and have stuck with Mequiar’s ever since. I have also used 3M polishes to fix paint blemishes. Since 1990 I have used these products either by hand or with a Waxmaster orbital buffer. My orbital buffer finally wore out and I checked around and bought a Porter Cable dual action polisher after seeing them recommended on the Meguiar’s website. I was referred to Autopia after asking a detailing question on a Dodge truck website.

I now own a black 2003 Dodge Ram 1500 Quad Cab. It is a heck of a lot of truck to detail. I also drive on 10 miles on gravel road daily. I want a durable, easy to maintain finish that will always look at least as good as the results that I can get with the Meguiar’s three step process. Something that is less work to apply and can be applied less often.

Somehow in all of my website meandering and numerous phone calls to both Mequiar’s and Classic Motoring Accessories, I ended up ordering a Blackfire polish and sealant kit from CMA. Now what?

I went back to my detailing manuals from the early 1990’s and was reminded that these polysealants might not be all that good for car finishes in the long run. How good are the newer sealants? How safe are they? And how do I remove Blackfire or any other sealant if I decide that I do not like the results?

By the way, I have two black Harley Davidsons and use S100 products exclusively in detailing them.

Sorry to have rambled so much. We old guys sometimes get carried away. The good thing is that I actually remember what my questions were.

:)

Michael H
05-21-2003, 11:01 PM