PDA

View Full Version : Concours, Proper Attire?

MBZ 500E
05-21-2003, 11:42 AM
So I`ll be entering my first concours in less than 2 weeks and I have to ask what is proper attire for a a show.

Can I wear shorts, jeans or slacks?

Also how on earth do you guys/gals keep yourself clean when prepping the car. I`m worried that if I`m wearing a pair of Khaki`s they will be tan/black by the time I`m done wiping down the wheel wells! Do you bring a change of clothes, maybe an apron.....:nixweiss

I know it sounds like a silly subject but first impressions do make a difference so it`s worth asking.

JasonC8301
05-21-2003, 11:56 AM
I have no experience in concours, but it depends on the type of concours event. a local event might be casual while a national concours event might intail some more sophisticated wear.

BradB might be able to chime in here about attire.

If it was me, on a cool day, a pair of Docker`s MF khaki slacks and a nice Autopia polo and some nice shoes. This is when showing the car I guess. To prepare bring a fairly older set of cloths...

chris0626
05-21-2003, 12:30 PM
I generally go for khakis & polo shirt. And I generally go for darker-colored khaki`s, since I know I`ll spend some time on my knees (no, not pleading with judges; just wiping down wheels, etc.) :D "Upscale" shorts if the weather is too warm.

Now ... what`s all this about getting filthy onsite?? All your hard/dirty work should be done beforehand. It`s typical for me to stop someplace fairly near the concours site to do most of the last-minute stuff that could get me dirty. Then just drive to the venue, QD exterior, wipe down the interior, perhaps a final wipe on the tires, and call it quits.