PDA

View Full Version : Clay on Red BMW 330Ci??

CATNC1
05-14-2003, 10:11 PM
I am new at this whole detailing thing and need some advice. I have a 2001 Bright Red BMW 330Ci that I have not detailed since I purchased it last July. I have purchase some products but think I may be missing something if I don`t use clay. Here was my plan, until I started and didn`t like the initial results.

1. Dawn Wash

2. Meguiars Medalion Paint Cleaner

3. Meguiars #7 Glaze

4. Meguiars Premium Paint Protectant

I am doing this by hand with Foam Applicator Pads. After doing a small section with Paint Cleaner and #7 I still have light swirls and small spots (rough to touch). I can get either Meguiars or Mothers Clay locally and I have Final Detail Spray that I could use. Is this a necessary step and which product will remove the swirls??? Also, Do I need to wash between steps??? I have stopped for now before I waste a lot of elbow grease for unwanted results.

Thanks!

John

Patrick
05-15-2003, 12:06 AM
I`d chuck all the Meg`s and go with Mothers....Great clay product and three step....I dont use it commercially but have in the past on personal vehicles and had much success with it....I just have probs with understanding what Im buying from Meg`s.....Their labeling is nothing short of a joke......seems like a lot of their products are multi use, although you think your buying a polymer, it has a cleaner in it....although you think your buying this, it has a little that in it....

Skip the dawn, people have a tendency to overuse the stuff, and if your polishing, dawn is pretty much useless as your polish will remove any previous Carnauba....

Mothers makes a great clay and QD (one of the best in Autopian minds), cleaner, sealer/glaze, and pretty good carnauba paste....Im sure you`ll have better results...

(to all who use Megs`)