PDA

View Full Version : beginner needs help on detailing black car in pretty bad condition

Pages : [1] 2

drdavidge
05-12-2003, 07:57 PM
hey, i posted a similiar thread before but the title was a little misleading... heres the deal:

as you can see..i have a bunch of nic`s and scratches and i am new to detailing, so i dont know what to do about them. the paint is 8 years old, and it dosent look like it was cared for too much before i bought it. i drive on the highway a lot so i have a nice mess of chips on the front of my car. so basically...i havent done much yet detailing wise, so what do i do? i have this stuff lying in my garage:

- Meguires Gold Class Car wash/shampoo

- Meguires Quik Detailer

- Meguires Deep Crystal System:

1- Paint Cleaner

2- Polish

3- Carnauba Wax

- 3m Swirl Mark Remover (for dark)

- Mothers Showtime Instant Detailer

- Mothers Pure Carnauba Wax (phase 3)

- Some GS-27 (this **** actually worked for me on surface scratches a few times)

- And I have many new 100%cotton terry cloth towels (that leave white “towel dust” and shed on my black car..haha)

- some microfiber towels from the pakshack

- a 7 pack of wax applicators from pepboys.. it has 4 things that are 100% terry cloth cotton and 3 of the foam yellow round applicators

- And the absorber

How should these things be applied/taken off? I really have no idea...haha

here are some pics:

http://www.drdavidge.com/nasty_scratch_swirls.jpg

http://car-meets.com/davepics/back_side.jpg

http://car-meets.com/davepics/front_side.jpg

http://car-meets.com/davepics/front_side2.jpg

http://car-meets.com/davepics/nics.jpg

http://car-meets.com/davepics/scratch.jpg

thanks for the help.

drdavidge
05-12-2003, 07:59 PM
an autopia member, OUCH, replied to my previous thread with this suggestion using what i already have: