PDA

View Full Version : Take HEART! you amateurs!!

Gadfly
05-07-2003, 04:11 PM
I own a Black Hyundai Santa Fe. Bought in November, 2002. A black car is a career, and I looked to Autopia for hints. Research led me to Platinum. Very nice, indeed. At 45 degrees is was a challenge to apply, but the results were very nice, indeed. Next was the hype on the ClearKote products. Naturally I had to try them - Vanilla Moose and Moose Wax - very nice, indeed. Then it was S100. Outstanding! But, now I was accumulating a lot of layers of these various nostrums.

Today I broke the bonds of hype and started over.

Being an amateur, I looked for the "retail" solution to getting my Black Santa Fe (The paint is not nearly as refined as my daughter`s M350).

MOTHER`S!! Phase 1, Pre Wax Cleaner. Phase 2, Sealer and Glaze. Bought at Pep Boys for $12 and change.

After the Pre Wax Cleaner, I thought that it can`t get better than this, but I persevered. On to Phase 2, Sealer and Glaze. Oh boy! For six bucks, this is a DEAL! Black, expecially Hyundai Black, is a real bear to get some semblance of freedom from swirls - spiderwebs or whatever. Phase 2 did the job. Now I don`t wince when I look at the hood from an angle.

To protect this nice look, the next step was a coat of S100 Paste Wax purchased at the local Harley dealership for $14.95 plus tax.

So, for $28 or so, I have a car that I am proud of. No shipping charges, no $200 PC (with pads and accessories) Just a nice shiney car and about three hours time.

Amateurs. Take HEART:xyxthumbs

2wheelsx2
05-07-2003, 04:28 PM
I agree. And the California Gold paste wax is great too. I used this for years before I arrived at Autopia. The problem is durability. I found that for me to maintain that shine, I had to do the 3 step every month.

Now, with Klasse, I spend 3 hours every 4 or months, after the initial swirl removal and cleanup. No comparison. And the shine is better.