PDA

View Full Version : How is this routine & 3M IHG Question

MansonOzz
04-22-2003, 04:58 PM
I`m new here, so hello!!

I`ve been reading around the site and it`s incredible. I don`t know much about detailing yet, but I hope to learn. gimme some time :p

Anyway, I am prepping my car for an upcoming show right now and am wondering what to do. This is my first time trying to get very INTO the detailing. Usually I would wash, wax, show (always taking home 1st or 2nd, thankfully!)

I stripped the old wax w/Dawn to start, then used ClayMagic clay to clean all the junk off. After that, it left the paint nice and smooth and clean. :xyxthumbs

I have swirl marks and got Meg`s Scratch X to do the job. Well, it doesn`t seem to be doing the job! The scratches are only seen when you`re right on top of the car and light is shining against it. I don`t know how picky I`m being, but I don`t consider myself to be ULTRA anal about everything. ALMOST everything, lol. The Scratch X left the paint smoother than it already was, but I still see scratches. What can I do about this??

I plan on finishing up with Meg`s #26 High Tech Yellow paste.

What polish should I use before that, though? Something that also takes out swirls or would Imperial Hand Glaze be good?

Now, one more question. Sorry to be jumping all around but I want to fit everything in. I found an old bottle of 3M IHG in the garage and the directions say to apply after polymer/sealant. What I want to know is, would it be safe to use this after I finish up w/the Scratch X or other swirl remover? I`d hate something to go wrong on my baby and I have to find out before I use it. Otherwise I won`t even touch the IHG.

Thanks in advance!! :bow

-dave

imported_BretFraz
04-22-2003, 06:12 PM
Welcome to Autopia :wavey

Let`s see here: