PDA

View Full Version : BEST car wash soap?

Pages : [1] 2

clizunk03
03-20-2003, 10:20 PM
what is the best car wash soap/detergent for a white car? im new to this detailing stuff and my car has been neglected for a couple months now and theres some exhaust and brake dust "embedded" into my paint. i have to scrub extremely hard just to take off a little of it. is there some type of professional strength car wash soap i can use thatll remove this stuff and where would i buy it? thanks

procareman50
03-20-2003, 10:27 PM
You could try Meguiar`s GC car wash or P21S wash, then use a good clay bar to get the contaminants off the car.

shaf
03-21-2003, 12:14 AM
Welcome to Autopia. :)

Stick around, read the Member Articles, and download the eBook for lots of good info and more detailed answers - you won`t regret it! :xyxthumbs

Most car soaps do a fine job, even the cheap stuff. I usually suggest whatever smells nice to you. To get off embedded contamination in your paint though, you should absolutely not be trying to scrub it off using muscle power. Doing so may get it off, but will also cause horrible scratching. Most people use clay - easy to get and simple to use. Some others suggest the ABC system. Do a search and/or read the things I suggested above. You`ll find out all you will need to know and more.

Michaelwdes
03-21-2003, 12:27 AM
i went thru my GC soap today, so i bought a bottle of EO car soap (red stuff) and it was 2.99/gallon.

Cant beat the price.....but it worked well...water sheated off nicely. the only thing is it doesnt suds as much as the CG. so i just used 2 capfuls instead. in the end, still cheaper, w/ good results.:up

Nagchampa
03-21-2003, 01:06 AM
Turtle Wax carwash soap does just as good a job as most. It doesn`t matter what brand you use. Just go for what smells best or costs less.

hondaguy2582
03-21-2003, 01:33 AM