PDA

View Full Version : Meguiars RX, any comments?

Pages : [1] 2

Si00
03-20-2003, 06:42 AM
I have many questions to ask, please have patience with me and know im a NEWBIE to the detailing world...Here goes.

I plan on detailing my car here within the next week. I`ve owned this car (RED) for 3 years now and its been detailed only once, late last summer. I want to use consumer products that i can readily buy at any Autozone, Walmart, etc.. I already have my 2 buckets, Many left over Meguiars products from last summer, and plenty of Royal Velvet towels i bought for a bargain.

Last summer when i detailed the car i went onto Meguiars website and had them do a Meguiars RX for my car. They suggested these, in order..

1. (WASH) Megs. Gold Class shampoo & Conditioner.

2. (PREP) Megs. Scratch X, but instead i bought Megs. paint cleaner.

3. (POLISH) Megs. deep Crystal system polish

4. (WAX) Megs. gold class clear coat wax.

5. (MAINTAIN) Megs. Quick detailer.

I was VERY pleased with the results, and got quite a few props for my hard work. ALL was done by hand. Some of you guys might be saying "i`d never use those products on my car" but since i didn`t know NOTHING about the detailng world, i assumed Meguiars would be a good place to start.

Heres a few questions for you guys...

1. Do i have to wait any amount of time before starting the next process...? I.e, cleaner then polish, polish then wax..etc.

2. Should i be using a sealer or glaze..? The RX did not mention anything about using it...

3. Would two coats of wax (one after the other) benefit the car or would it just be a waste of product...?