PDA

View Full Version : New here, need tips!

blown5.0
03-12-2003, 09:58 PM
Hi guys, im new here. Im a newbie at detailing my car but have various products. The weather is gettiing warm and i was thinking of detailing my exterior as follows:

clay bar

dawn

meguiars scratch x

meguiars gold class

Both meguiars products will be applied using a random orbital buffer. I have never used this buffer before, is there a special way to put it on or can i just go up down, left right at a slow pace? Any help and tips would be appreciated.

crooper
03-12-2003, 10:10 PM
you`ll want to wash before you clay.

as for the scratchx, if you`re doing it by a random orbit buffer, you might want to consider other scratch removal products specifically aimed for use on such a machine. 3m`s SMR or Meguiar`s #9 or DACP depending on how bad your finish is.

blown5.0
03-12-2003, 10:25 PM
Thanks for the reply. My finish is pretty good. But when its washed and no polish or wax is appplied , you can see fine scratches in my paint. Should i just apply the scratch X by hand then?

Thomasfl
03-12-2003, 10:32 PM
A question with your random orbital buffer, if it is one of those 9 or 10 inch ones from walmart or autoparts stores, it is no problem to use but remember it isn`t doing anything you can`t do by hand just helping make it a little easier and faster. By the way that Gold Class wax takes about a week or one rainfall before you lose your shine.

shaf
03-13-2003, 12:42 AM
You might also want to think about using a glaze prior to waxing. The cleaners/no cleaners argument about Gold Class is old, but it still may make an improvement - especially on black. Mothers glaze is a good product, and there`s a fairly recent thread either here or in the University about their carnauba wax too. Gold Class is generally considered to be good looking, but short-lived.

blown5.0
03-13-2003, 10:12 AM
Thanks for the replies guys!