PDA

View Full Version : Anyone else hit "the wall"?

samiam513
01-31-2003, 07:47 PM
On the cars i detail weekly ( mine and couple family members) I have seem to hit a wall. I can`t tell a differancec in and thing I use in the same catagory (carnauba/ polymer) on these vehicles.

But.. When i detail other people`s cars which I have never done before , I can tell a differance. Some are big differancecs which I take pictures of and use as examples.

Is my paint just as good as it will get without repainting, (very unlikely), am i just acustomed to the shiny truck( likely) or is this somthing tha others have gotten too?

allen aikens jr.
01-31-2003, 09:01 PM
I hear what you`re saying. But I don`t think it`s because you`re hitting a wall. You`re just used to seeing a shiny truck. :D

Altho` I imagine all the wizards here have that trained eye to tell the difference.:bow

jr weeks
01-31-2003, 09:04 PM
But...it may be that i`m just too close to the situation to be objective and notice any difference anymore. I have over 100 layers of Zaino on mine, and so...I got bored recently and decided to throw some Souveran on top. Can`t tell much difference, looks a bit "wetter" the first couple hours, from the oils, but after that...I don`t think there`s a change.

So begs the question; how would I know when I reached my goal? Maybe I`ve been there and haven`t realized it. Other people tell me so...but I always thought it could get better and better and better. Maybe not to such a defined degree.

I think the increments of improvement just get very miniscule at a certain point. :)

http://members.tccoa.com/onequiksc/resized%20dec%2001%20low%20pro%20side.jpg

C. Charles Hahn
01-31-2003, 09:36 PM
I hit the wall towards the end of "detailing season" every year. But after the winter full of time seeing the cars salty and a mess, I can see the difference between products again as I basically have to "start over" next season.

Lowejackson
02-01-2003, 06:14 AM