PDA

View Full Version : Wash brushes

416 Auto
01-13-2003, 07:04 PM
Hey whats up guys? This is my first time so and try and make it speacil :D ..lol

I have a 01 Dakota R/T (flame red) and I currently use one of those gauranted not to scratch brushes to wash it. Is this o.k. to use and if not what is the "BEST" thing to use.

There are swirl marks in it but they came from the factory. Whats the best way to get them out.

Thanks a million.....................Clint

Brad B
01-13-2003, 07:20 PM
Welcome aboard, Clint!:wavey

As far as the brushes, I am not a big fan of them personally but you will get mixed reviews. I prefer Cotton Chenille mitts for washing, and microfiber waffleweave towels for drying.

A LOT has to do with technique. The way you clean your mitts and flush your paint surface with water to stop debris from scratching, etc. Shampoo will help lubricate and help you avoid scratches from debris especially in winter. I use two mitts. One for the top half and one exclusively for the bottom half of the car since that is more likely to pick up grit. You don`t want that one to be used on a more obvious place like the hood.

For removing swirls you need to go about it by compounding the surface then protecting. It depends how bad the damage is for what product to use.

The mainstay of products in my garage include 3M Fine Cut Rubbing Compound for really damaged or oxodized paint, 3M Finesse It which can take care of medium size scratches and swirls, 3M Swirl Mark Remover which is one step finer for getting an even higher gloss and removing minor swirls, and Pinnacle Paint Cleansing lotion for general surface cleaning and haze removal.

Do a search of the archives and read the FAQ sections. We have many articles on this very subject.

http://fototime.com/45F202E5693ECA7/standard.jpg

416 Auto
01-13-2003, 11:57 PM
Thanks very much for the tips. I can really use them. I will look up how to use the products you suggested.

Thanks again.........Clint

Accumulator