PDA

View Full Version : Protection - Carnuba Wax Vs. Sealant

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

billrouleau
01-08-2003, 08:50 PM
I thought I would start this thread in order to list the FACTS known about the differences in PROTECTION offered by a carnuba wax versus any popular sealant, in hopes of helping any searches on this subject. Please add to whatever I put here, as I am no expert by any means. I do believe that carnuba waxes offer some sort of minimal protection, but not as much as a sealant would.

CARNUBA WAX:

Max temp. - ~170F

Minimal UV protection

SEALANT:

Max temp. - >400F

Good UV blocking ability

Does that sound right?

Also, longer-term, is the UV protection of a sealant going to help the paint versus using ONLY a carnuba wax? I thought today`s paint technologies were much more advanced, so the use of either would be fine (ie. today`s paints will not show noticeably more UV damage over say 6-8 years with use of either).

Jngrbrdman
01-08-2003, 09:44 PM
CMA provided some great info about the difference between a sealant and a carnauba. (http://www.properautocare.com/blacwhatdif.html) Your info is pretty close. Basicly there is no durability comparison. A sealant is designed that it will last longer than a carnauba thus it protects longer. I don`t know of any carnaubas that were designed to really protect your car for long periods of time. Wax is more of an appearance thing and less of a protection thing these days. Before the day of sealants waxing you car was the only way to protect it. Now there are so many other options that waxing has become less necessary for protection in the long run.

billrouleau
01-09-2003, 12:07 AM