PDA

View Full Version : Another tint question (BMW owners please reply)

F1Crazy
12-06-2002, 10:21 PM
I`ve heard that it`s very difficult to tint rear window because of DOT Matrix and tint not sticking to it.

What are your experiences and suggestions?

Brodydog
12-06-2002, 11:36 PM
I have no firsthand experience, but I have heard that, too. Additionally, metallic tint on rear window (as opposed to film) affects radio and tire pressure monitors, too. Don`t know if this helps, but film tint is supposed to be less an issue...

rstype
12-07-2002, 12:25 AM
Here`s some good information: http://www.tintdude.com/dot-matrix.html

http://www.bimmerforums.com/forum/attachment.php?s=&postid=547293

Tinters use everything from glues to vinyl or paint.

waxerman
12-07-2002, 08:56 AM
go to a tint shop who do BMW cars all the time, with proper prep the matrix should be fine, do not go where they use glues etc as that will surely void the factory film warranty . Metalic films will affect A.M radio reception , if you use a dyed film it will change colour over time but if you like A.M stations make sure you use Formula one Classic film as it is about 3 times more colour stable than any other film out there. if you come up to Canada i can use metal film with out loosing your A.M reception but that`s my secret and i`m not revealing that one to my competition. tint dude .com is an O.K site with some (not many ) good tinters on there, read through the replys and you will figure out who you don`t want to tint your car! Good luck:)

HellrotCi
12-07-2002, 09:32 AM