PDA

View Full Version : Body shop & waxing

mdb33
12-02-2002, 01:27 PM
I just took my 3 week old car into have some minor body work repaired after I backed into a miata from my driveway. I was talking with the shop and they are going to have to repaint the driver side quarter panel and bumper. I asked how long until I can put my Zaino`s back on and they said they recommend waiting a month for the paint to cure. They did say I can wash it but they recommend only rinsing it off and not actually scrubbing any dirt off as the paint may scratch. This body shop comes highly recommended from my Infiniti dealership and others in town. Does this information sound correct. Please advise. Thanks.

P.S. great forum

JJUACC
12-02-2002, 07:56 PM
I can tell you what Sal Zaino told me a while back, and I quote:

There`s a lot of misinformation about waiting three months for the paint to cure. I am a custom painter by trade. I am very familiar with Dupont, PPG and all the other paint manufacturers. The most I personally would wait on fresh "aftermarket body shop" paint before polishing with Zaino Show Car Polish is 1 week. That`s more than sufficient curing time. Zaino contains no wax, silicone oil or abrasives. The new paints are catalyzed. A chemical reaction cures the paint. The older lacquers and enamels needed time for the solvents to release. This is not he case anymore. Believe me if that paint need 3 months to dry than it will never dry. Just the facts.

If you have a question, EMAIL Sal. He hasn`t lied to me yet.

ultrajim49
12-03-2002, 03:36 AM
I find this very usefull information.

Thanks

Christiaan

SoTex
12-03-2002, 11:03 AM
Weigh the benefits. What harm will come from waiting a month? What harm "might" come from being hasty and waiting a week? (probably none, but the body shop wants to cover their assets)