PDA

View Full Version : Hi, new to Autopia... Dilema

Pages : [1] 2

albertoiffrlw
11-10-2002, 01:22 PM
Ive been browsing here for quite awhile. Originally when i had registered, i never received a confirmation email. At any rate, i re-registered and here i am with posting abilities...

Ive been using Zaino for a few years. I recently purchased a 2002 Black Lightning. Ive done everything in my power to limit swirls. I only dry with mf towels, use a sea sponge to wash and rinse the truck down prior to washing with a power washer.

I had gone to a car show back in sept. Lots of dust. I had used a wet mf soaked in distilled water to remove the dust build up. I now managed to put light swirls into my finish and im not happy.

I ordered a PC last week and it should be here any day now. At any rate, i need to fix this problem. I read up on the new Black Fire2 and was wondering if its available now. I love poly type protection.

Am i best off stripping with dawn, clay barring the truck down, using some sort of swirl mark remover and then a glaze? Finish off with the new BF2 stuff? Need some opinions. Thank You

C. Charles Hahn
11-10-2002, 01:43 PM
Yes, any order you place for blackfire will be the blackfire "2".

Sounds like you have a pretty good technique down as it is, so I have a few questions as to your existing setup:

1) which Zaino have you been applying? (Z2, or Z5? and with/without ZFX?) how many coats does the truck have on it as of now?

2) by "wet mf", you mean soaking wet or one you wrung out first to make it more "damp" than "wet"??

3) what type of surface prep did you do prior to zaino? its possible that the swirls were there previously and you just didnt notice them.