PDA

View Full Version : Does P21S wheel cleaner offer superior performance?

tom p.
08-18-2002, 02:38 PM
I have used P21s wheel cleaner for the past 15 years or so. I stopped using it since more cost-effective alternatives have emerged. I have been using Griot’s wheel cleaner for a few years and had dropped the P21S due to "high cost". Our current fleet of cars generates minimal brake dust and the Griot’s, at $36 per gallon (incl. shipping), was highly cost-effective and gentle on the wheels. It did a very decent job.

We recently picked up a new BMW and they are a real horror show when it comes to heavy, foul brake dust. The Griot’s wheel cleaner no longer had enough cleaning "horsepower" to contend with the BMW’s build up. So, time for a change.

I have just received a fresh shipment of P21S and have noticed the formulation must have changed over the past couple of years. The color is a darker green, the odor is quite different and the products appear to foam up a bit more when agitated. From a cleaning perspective, the P21S kicks butt.

A couple of very specific notes:

The brake calipers and related hardware appear as new…WOW, are they clean...I cannot believe my eyes...

I use an OXO wheel brush and it is absolutely clean (like new) after cleaning the wheels with the P21S.

My old grunge sponge I use to clean the wheels had been quite stained with brake dust funk and after one use with the P21S, it is completely clean.

Am I imaging all of this or is the P21S a vastly superior wheel cleaner irrespective of price?

YoSteve
08-18-2002, 03:26 PM
I unfortunately didn`t experience the same outstanding performance in VW brake pads and painted wheels. It appearly literally to do nothing. EF HI, however did so much better.

RobD
08-18-2002, 07:50 PM
I use P21S Gel and like it alot. P21S also seems to be fairly easy on wax. My wheels bead up and stay smooth for quite a while.

tom p.
08-19-2002, 06:16 AM
Originally posted by YoSteve