PDA

View Full Version : What to buy to wash/wax ?

imported_matthew
08-11-2002, 01:54 PM
Alright, I`ll admit it. I am a newbie to car care. I spent a while saving up for my brand new 2002 Pathfinder, and after owning it for a few months, taking it through the automatic car wash, lets just say I am less than satisfied.

I am going to go to pep boys today I think. Like I said I am a newbie, so I have no idea what to buy for it or anything. The color is black, so as you can imagine everything shows on it!

Can anyone here give me some recommendations on what to buy? I have nothing right now that would be helpful to wash it, other than a hose :)

I really don`t have much of a limit on what to spend. I am guessing right now I`ll buy 2 buckets, one for clean water, one for soapy water. I also need some kind of cleaner, some kind of scratch remover, and some kind of wax. Also something to wash it with, mittens or something, I don`t know. Whets the best thing to use to wash the surface of the car?

I guess I am asking for a list of what I should buy, and maybe some tips on how to do this all. I am prepared to spend hours to get it looking nice, the 15 minutes it takes to drive to the car wash, go through and come back just doesn`t cut it for me and my new puppy :)

Thanks for helping me out, and I sure hope I don`t bore some of you guys with all my questions!

Matt

mercedesfanatic
08-11-2002, 02:05 PM
If you do a search you should be able to find a lot of information on this. Since you said you have no price limit what I would recommend is that you skip your trip to Pep Boys and instead go to www.properautocare.com Anything you need for car cleaning is there. I personally would recommend you check out the Pinnacle line!

imported_matthew
08-11-2002, 02:07 PM
Thanks. When I said no price limit, I mean`t resonable. Spending $100 on supplies is not going to kill me.