PDA

View Full Version : clear coat prep for sealants

SXTMagnum
07-09-2002, 11:58 PM
yes, i am a newbie for posts.:wavey yet, i have been a voyeur for many hours, weeks. i registered, but i can already tell i will become a supporting member. i didn`t realize their were "others" out there who didn`t think it was a waste of time to protect their rides. thanks for all the great info. i have specific questions though.

i have decided to try a synthetic system. for the carnuba guys, please don`t click the "back" button. i really respect your experience with this subject.:xyxthumbs

i have decided to trade the "advantages" of the carnuba for the "longevity" of the synthetic. we all understand that paint prep work ultimately determines the final appearance of all detail work.

my paint is metallic medium gray with slight "mica" effects of brown covered with clear coat and new as of 2001. these effects are pleasing. there are towel swirls all over.:o there are three small places that are deeper scratched areas. none of these are through the clear coat. i would like to prep the whole surface properly before i apply the "polish" and the "sealant".

i would prefer not to remove material if possible. my main purpose is to hide the swirls and scratches (and orange peel if possible) by hand. if i prep one area a night, that is ok. i am not in a hurry, quality counts here.

i have chosen a product that has mixed reviews for a reason. my "color" is truly in the "middle" of the color spectrum. i am forced to experiment.:sosad this is why i feel it is important to prep the paint surface for the final appearance.

mainly, with a clear coat, by hand, what do i do before i polish and seal? here is my evaluation:

from your posts:

alkaline wash

clay

brand wash

SMR by hand (brand, type?)

brand wash

IHG

brand wash

brand polish

brand sealant

:nixweiss