PDA

View Full Version : Clay bar.....Application, brands??

Pages : [1] 2

ExplorerXLT95
06-10-2002, 08:34 AM
I am relatively new to being a detailing hobbyist...I am not sure exactly how to use a clay bar, but from the description in some of the articles here, I do need one in order to remove some oxidation, repair some scratches, etc from my paint.

How do I use a clay bar and what kind should I buy??

Include all the general stuff a veteran detailer would leave out because I am 100% new to the clay bar.....Thanks guys...

ALS2000
06-10-2002, 09:20 AM
I am also relatively new to the Clay Bar, but from the threads I have read, the recommended brand is Mothers California Gold Clay Bar Paint Saving System. I found it at Advanced Auto Parts for $14.99. The kit contains: the Clay Bar, Showtime Instant Detailer and Carnauba Cleaner Wax.

Directions for use are simple: wash and dry the car, thoroughly wet a 2 foot square section with Showtime Instant Detailer, rub the clay bar in a back and forth motion overlapping each stroke using very light pressure and wipe off excess Showtime. Once complete, apply a coat of wax.

They say the clay bar sheers off damaging and unsightly contaminants including paint over-spray.

Good Luck....

http://www.s2000atlanta.com/gallery/Photos/AlS2000/my_s2000_photos/exterior/image009_a.jpg

ExplorerXLT95
06-10-2002, 09:45 AM
How about the Pinnacle Poly-Clay Kit?? That any good?? Also, what should you use to get the clay off??

imported_seres
06-10-2002, 09:56 AM
Try the Clay Magic kit for $9.99 at AutoZone -- I`ve used it and like it pretty well. I`ve also used Erazer Clay System from http://www.dccarcare.com and like it.

As far as "removing" the clay -- it doesn`t stay on the car, what is left there is the lub. spray, and if you use it correctly, with the lubricant spray, you won`t get the streaking I`ve seen some metion (well, I haven`t had streaking with the brands I`ve used). Then, I just wipe the panel dry with a MF.