PDA

View Full Version : Newbie...need advice on new car detailing strategy

Pages : [1] 2

EBVert
02-04-2002, 08:42 PM
I`ve been surfing this site as a complete novice, so I apologize if my question has already been answered in the past.

Just ordered a 2002 BMW M3 Convertible...should arrive here in Atlanta by late March. Wanted to get your expert opinion on how I should go about detailing it as far as cleaning, conditioning, waxing, etc. For example, some on this forum have suggested not letting the dealer to any prep....these are the types of things I just don`t know....please help.

I would like to do a couple of things, though I`m not sure of the order or combination:

- Get xPel or Stongard clear coat installed to protect front end from chips, etc. (if it`s worth it...don`t even know)

- Enhance the look of the exterior w/ combination of waxes, conditioners, etc. that are relatively easy to apply and will be more durable (less maintenance - just don`t have the time to spend on detailing as I`d like to)

The car is Titanium Silver w/ Grey interior.

Your comments and opinions on how I should procede would be most welcome.

Thanks in advance.

BradE
02-04-2002, 08:48 PM
Congrats on your purchase.:cool: :bow M3`s

I would not let the dealer prep the car. I would tell them to leave it as is, and have them wright in the sales agreement if they prep it you are not obligated to purchase the car.

As for what products to use, try using the search function on the board and you will find a treasure trove of information about various products. :xyxthumbs

Welcome to the forum. :bounce

Lemonxxs
02-04-2002, 10:09 PM
exactly what Showroom said.

Welcome too again!!

Chuckmotor
02-04-2002, 10:35 PM
(in my best Homer Simpson voice) Mmmmmm... M3....