PDA

View Full Version : a bunch of newbie ???????????

imported_2wheelsx2
02-04-2002, 12:53 AM
1st off ive been learning from this forum for the last 6 months and love it. but i have some question first is to detail king, it is how do i get my car to look like the jetta you posted
http://autopia-carport.com/forum/showthread.php3?s=&threadid=6548e (`http://autopia-carport.com/forum/showthread.php3?s=&threadid=6548e`)
let me tell yall what i hae been doing to my black (realy dark blue pearl) 2000 honda accord
1st i have been using either 3m swirl mark remover but have recently switched to meguires number 9, i think its not as harsh as the 3m, am i right? Ihave been using a cheap orbital buffer from walmart untill i get my pc7424
2nd step some times is meguires deep crystal polish applied by hand
3rd mequires gold class or mothers pure carnuba as a final step.
b/c it usaully takes me several hours to do the car i ussualy use meguires final inspection to wipe the car down between coats
well my problem is hazing after the 3rd step. i think its hazing b/c if i only see it in the direction i wiped, i am using royal velvet to remove and then a micro fiber to do a final wipe down. nad i only wash, wax and dry in straight lines never circles
second is that the wax and slickness only last about a week and then the swirls and roughness return.

i love having a clean car and can budget 2-3 hours a week to clean the car. does anyone have any suggestions as to what i am doing wrong or do i just need a pc and some better products
sorry so long

Andre'
02-04-2002, 02:13 AM
Sounds like the products you are using are just covering up the swirls not removing them, use the 3M SMR and FI2. It is hard to remove swirls by hand a PC will help you out a lot.

You also may need to use clay to remove the contamination from the paint before you wax.