PDA

View Full Version : need a little help with this cold weather detail

Pages : [1] 2

512detail
11-12-2013, 12:34 PM
well i have my first `cold` weather work set up for me tomorrow and just my luck that the first real cold front is coming through into central texas this evening and it will be a wonderful 39 (32 with windchill) when i start at 9 tomorrow. by noon it should be low 50s and hold there for the rest of daylight so thats okay.

this is my first year detailing in the `winter` as you would call it in my part of texas. so i have a few questions for those who work in colder weather regularly.

*I hope this isnt a stupid question but: if the temperature is in the 40s do polishes/waxes still work the same?I would guess they would take longer to dry on the surface but dont want to find out first hand tomorrow. i know alot of them say not to work on warm surfaces or in the direct sun but i lack sufficient knowledge on their ability to work in the lower ranges of the temperature scale

Also do you see any flaws in my planned method? (trying to get this done as efficiently as possible given the supplies i have at hand-come on christmas sales!)

wheels/tires: megs apc+ in foam sprayer, optibond on tires
interior: opticlean, qtips, toothpics, vacuum etc.
lexol 3n1 leather care
glass: stoners

hose rinse then one bucket method with lots of towels and mits (keep my hands out of the cold water as much as possible) - dry with ww and powered air

then im hoping one of their shops is vacant so i can get out of the wind and cold air

baggie test and clay if needed (really regretting not purchasing a clay towel yet)

shine: this is really my delima, i need to make the best use of my time and products here
i would prefer to keep this to two products on the exterior (ex. AIO and optiseal or Glaze and Optiseal) as that is all that is really outlined in the package they are purchasing but i do like to go above and beyond so...