PDA

View Full Version : Can you suggest a "poor man`s" method of pad cleaning?

rsessums
10-19-2012, 09:44 AM
Hi,

I just spent $200+ on a Porter Cable buffer, potions, elixirs, textiles, pads, etc. I am very happy with the results that I have achieved using all this new gear - and even happier to finally chunk the old Walmart/Turtle Wax buffer into the trash.

As I had already spent more money than I expected I would, I did not order any of the foam pad cleaning items, hence I am wondering if anybody else gets away with just using household items for cleaning their own foam pads.

I have been using Formula 409™, an old soft toothbrush, and lots of water for rinsing and this SEEMS to be doing a decent job for me. As long as I rinse very thoroughly I feel that I am not leaving residue on the pads which would cause there to be unwanted abrasion later.

Any suggestions, warnings, ideas, horror stories or affirmations of my "poor man`s" method.

BTW: I am an amateur newbie and have been detailing only family cars (and have had really good results so far - thanks to this forum and you`lls shared wisdom).

Thank you in advance for your comments.

RZJZA80
10-19-2012, 09:53 AM
Dawn Power Dissolver (small blue spray bottle), rinse the dirty pad, spray some dawn on it, let it sit for a few minutes, then agitate with your fingers, rinse the pad again, get as much water out as possible and let air dry.

BobbyG
10-19-2012, 10:07 AM
I`ve found that using an all purpose cleaner in warm-hot water works pretty well. I also discovered that BlackFire Pad Cleaner is about the best pre-wash pad spray there is on the planet, seriously.

Spray, kneed in, let soak, then submerge in warm water to rinse....

I`ve also used DP Pad Cleaner with tremendous success! :bigups

Detailer`s Pro Series Polishing Pad Rejuvenator (http://www.autopia-carcare.com/dp-pad-cleaner.html)