PDA

View Full Version : Bonded contaminants

jackwilson1
10-12-2011, 01:19 PM
Since I am a detailing newbie, I don`t have the proper vernacular to describe the damage to my automobile`s paint. But I will try.
There is a "milkish" covering on the lower part of both sides of the car. Some white specks are liberally sprinkled throughout. This coating is never higher than about 6 inches above the bottom of the doors
Every road trip seems to increase the problem. I have tried clay, polishing with Menzerna "Power Finish" and "Super Finish", using both Orange and Yellow foam pads with an orbital dual action polisher.
No difference!
Can anyone tell me how many "back and forth" (with lubricants!) motions does it take to remove bonded contaminants? 100? More? 100 strokes does not make any difference at all.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Nth Degree
10-12-2011, 02:06 PM
Without photos it`s really hard to know what you are talking about. It sounds like a combination of issues rather than just one. You don`t mention what type of car or color. It could be paint splatter from freshly painted lines, but that would likely be a one time issue, not every road trip. It could be rock chips that are in the paint, rather than on it. That would make clay ineffective. Does the milkish coating come off with washing, leaving behind the specks? Is there a pattern that indicates coming from the tires? Is it being hit by sprinklers when parked or landscapers? Do you have a dirt/gravel driveway?

So many possibilities based upon the provided information.

In general, just a few passes with clay should give some improvement if any is possible. If you make 10 passes and don`t see any improvement then you are wasting your time and can wind up doing more harm than good.

opie_7afe
10-12-2011, 04:21 PM
as dwg says we need pictures. we cant just imagine what a defect looks like, it would be like asking for a quote on new tile without giving measurements.

jackwilson1
10-12-2011, 06:35 PM