PDA

View Full Version : FREE Products And FREE Shipping From ProperAutoCare.com

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

Gray Wolf
03-24-2002, 10:42 PM
Ordered Zaino and it should arrive sometime this week for a weekend application. Claying a 3 week old dark blue BMW. This is my first time ever using a clay bar (Zaino`s). Can someone provide directions or a link.

Thanks.

z driver 88t
03-24-2002, 11:01 PM
Do a search for "claying instructions" and you will find this post among others to get more info than you could believe.

The basic procedure is pretty much spelled-out on the Zaino site:

www.zainobros.com

Z-18 CLAYBAR INSTRUCTIONS

Are you sure you want to clay a 3 week old car? I know the Zaino instructions say to do this, but unless you know what you are doing, you can scratch your paint. I did that last year using a Meguairs claybar. I was sooo pissed. Got an older car surface you could practice on?

Otherwise, there is a chemical way to clean your paint. Supposed to be better as overall paint prep than clay and might eliminate any need to clay at all. Especially since the car is so new. Called the ABC system. Do a search and see for yourself. Some think it is great.

Somehow, I think you will get many opinions on this subject....

F1Crazy
03-24-2002, 11:32 PM
I think in this case doing the whole ABC process is unnecessary - stick with a claybar. It`s easier than you think, just make sure your car is extra clean, maybe wash it twice.

Use just enough lubricant to make it possible to move the bar without much pressure. Do not press it down! You will actually hear that clicking sound of bar doing it`s job.

Check David`s e-book for detailed instructions.

If you are still worried try claying your windows first - much harder to make a scratch.

Good luck!

MikeLS
03-24-2002, 11:37 PM