PDA

View Full Version : CH.Detailed - 1960 Chevy Brookwood

Pages : [1] 2 3

surfah
03-12-2002, 04:06 AM
Hello,

I am a novice and know practically nothing about car car/car care products.

I would like an honest and detailed explanation of the ads/disads of using teflon coating (i.e., perma-plating) vs. just plain `ol waxing.

I had friends who have teflon-coated their cars and have never waxed. just washed and after 2 years, their cars still look practically brand new after washing.

On the other hand, there were people who "swear" that waxing is the best way to go to preserve their original glossy finish of new cars.

I am getting a new car next month and would like to maintain the glossy new car finish as long as possible and am wondering which is the best way to go about it.

Thank you very much in advance.

:nixweiss

vettefan67
03-12-2002, 05:52 AM
First of all welcome to this wonderful forum!

Second . . . Teflon coatings on paint are all marketing hype. The dealers buy the stuff for $20 / gallon and sell it for $500 / couple ounces that it takes to do a car. Teflon (PTFE) requires a temperature of around 700 degrees to actually bond to a surface. At that temperature . . . let`s just say that they wouldn`t do that to your car and thus the teflon wont bond.

Search the forum for "teflon degrees bond" and you will get a number of threads.

So what to do? Buy the ebook! (`http://www.autopia-carcare.com`) "The book" has a huge wealth of information for new and experienced detailers alike. Also read the Details, Details, Details section of http://www.autopia-carport.com (`http://www.autopia-carport.com`)

:xyxthumbs

dengelson
03-12-2002, 08:24 AM
Justin nailed the teflon issue, it is pure hype. You would be better off with a good wax or sealant.

Wax Plusses: You can get a variety of shines by using different waxes. A good non abrasive wax can also be layered to change the look/shine even more.