PDA

View Full Version : EXTREME ENOUGH turning 16 yrs old Charcoal paint to Mirror Finish, newbie on rotary

Pages : [1] 2

Chuckmotor
12-11-2001, 04:52 PM
A couple of my friends tell me that they use Meguair`s Cleaner Wax often. They say it hides all the scratches. One of these guys has a black car, as do I, and he says the Cleaner Wax makes the car look great. I was wondering if any of you guys new anything about this stuff. Is it safe? How is it different from a polish? Does it last? Will it work?

JasonC8301
12-11-2001, 05:19 PM
I am assuming its the burgundy consumer cleaner wax from meguiars? The can or bottle from K-mart, Wall-mart, target type stores?

If so I have a 32 oz. bottle of that stuff. It cleans decent and leaves a shine that lasts for 3-4 weeks.

I guess Klasse All-In-One would be *like* the cleaner wax, but Klasse leaves a better shine IMHO and leaves more protection.

Meguiars also makes a professional cleaner wax #6 I think. I have no experience with that cleaner/wax.

The Meguiars will work with proper technqiue, but don`t expect miracles. Meguiars use the term polish loosely (sp?). The cleaner/wax is probably a glaze/wax. It will cover up swirls, clean the paint a little, then lay down some protection. Expect to apply once a month. AGAIN don`t expect exceptional results. Its an ok wax for the average Joe, but the cleaner wax does not live up to Autopian standards.

Jason

imported_Intermezzo
12-11-2001, 05:21 PM
Do they all work for Meguiar`s? hehe, just kidding.

A cleaner is a product with cleaning agents (via solvents or abrasives or both) that will, depending on its strength, remove surface defects, swirls, stains, etc. Meguiar`s cleaner wax is a combination type of product that has some cleaning ability and also lays on a coats of protective wax. If used properly (and also depending on the condition of your car surface), it could significantly improve the appearance of your car as well as provide some protection from the elements.