PDA

View Full Version : hi from land o lakes

YoSteve
09-25-2001, 01:53 PM
darbh, you beat me to the usual, try something new post that I try to put out every once in awhile

I work in a lab and we use a product called Sparkleen to clean our glassware and lab equipment. It claims to leave no residue in the hardest water. Wonder what it would do to the big Z and K bunch.

(I will not try though, my baby is to sacred) I guess here`s the question this thread begs, if Dawn may residue, what won`t?

imported_Road Kill
01-17-2010, 06:21 AM
it was -20F here last week :Snowman:, and it got above freezing today so I wanted to take advantage of the warm weather and work on my cars

not sure where to put this, what are some good metal polish to get for Vette C6 ehxaust tips and also the clear top? And how about headlight polishing?

imported_Flash Gordon
01-17-2010, 08:55 AM
Wow -20...It should be illegal for it to get that cold :Snowman:

For those tips. I have used dozens of different metal(chrome)polishes over the years.I think most are just car polishes packaged in a different labled bottle :devil:

Hands down xtreem metal polish is the best I have used to date. Don`t see how anything could be any better then xtreem :wizard:

If the tips are corroided a bit you will need to hit them with some APC and xxxx steel wool before polishing ;)

As for the headlites.Depends on how bad they are. Could be able to just polish them out. If not, 1500/2000 grit sandpaper followed by 105/205 works as good as anything.Be sure and tape that area up real good, lots of oppurtunnity to make a fatal mistake in the hood/headlight area :scared:

Clear Top....Do you mean clearbra or plastic back window :confused:

Welcome to Truth In Detailing Road Kill. Hope to see you around :Car smiley:

imported_Luster
01-17-2010, 09:33 AM
Welcome to TID!!!!

For Exhaust Tips, I like Happich Simichrome Polish or Mothers Billet Aluminum Polish. Both are excellent products.