PDA

View Full Version : Latest thoughts on `rustproofing`

Pages : [1] 2

Phil Price
07-27-2001, 12:32 PM
Hi Everyone,

As a newbie, I love this forum and it has been a great learning experience.

I wasn`t paying attention at the pump and pulled out the nozzle before it fully drained and spilled gas on the exterior of the car.

Now for my question:

What is the proper way to handle the wipe up? QD with a microfiber towel?

TIA.

DETAILKING
07-27-2001, 12:38 PM
Wash the area well with car wash, and re-wax the panel with whatever you were using. No harm was probably done.....

jkochis
07-27-2001, 02:30 PM
If the station has a paper towel dispenser, I find it helpful to hold a paper towel under the nozzle when removing to help catch any drops.

07-27-2001, 04:27 PM
Hey RH, why aren`t you bustin` DETAILKING`s cojones about having a pic in his signature? Did you resign from the Bandwith Police?

jkochis
07-27-2001, 04:29 PM
I`ll be so bold as to create a whole new subject on it!!

PassatPunk
07-27-2001, 08:07 PM
RH was saying something about how Detailking`s car is cooler than yours. And thats why he didnt mind.

PassatPunk.

jkochis
07-27-2001, 08:16 PM
Ha Ha! No, actually I admire beau`s car much more due to its age, condition, and shine. My granny can make a 2001 shine!

PassatPunk
07-27-2001, 11:51 PM
I always try to avoid this spillage of the last few drops of petrol. I always shake the handle real well before I take the .. uhmm before I withd... before I take the nozzle out. Then I pull back reallll fast.. I am getting pretty good as no drips have dropped. I think the paper idea said before is the best; see RHs post. I think I am going to get myself in trouble one day pulling out so fast and whack the machine with my elbow. Will give the paper method a try out next time.

PassatPunk.

ISLANDSBEST
07-28-2001, 02:19 AM