PDA

View Full Version : finishing wood

Pages : [1] 2

janderson
07-20-2001, 09:27 AM
I just got my car repainted after an accident. I was told not to wash the car for about 6 weeks. I then talked to someone else, who said that you can wash your car, but not wax it. I would like to get my 1989 325i looking good. The car is in great shape. Not really sure where to begin. I would like to wash the car, but I do not want to mess up the paint job.

I just got Zymol carbon for the car as I heard that it was pretty good stuff. After reading some of the posts, I hear that there are lots of other products that are superior to Zymol. I am trying to breath life back into the paint. Do I need to get a machine buffer? I do not mind doing the work by hand, plus a machine buffer is quite expensive.

I am new to the world of auto detailing. I am not sure where to begin. Any input would be great.

bobdec
07-20-2001, 10:28 AM
Too bad about the accident. I`m assuming that you just had a part of the car repainted, but regardless of that, it is necessary to keep the repainted surface protected. A car only comes with one factory paint job and repaints generally don`t hold up as well. You can see evidence of this on many cars that are not maintained and a couple of years down the road, the factory paint and the repaint don`t really match any more.