PDA

View Full Version : Maintenance

dunit
07-10-2001, 03:14 PM
I bought some Griots Garage cotten terry cloth towels (damn they were expensive!). Now I keep hearing about microfiber towels. Which should I use? Or should I use both?

I`m particularly interested in which is the best towel to dry the car after washing, and then which is the best to polish and then wax with?

My car is black and of course swirl marks are not wanted..

Thanks for any ifno!

ihetenyi
07-10-2001, 03:53 PM
My thought is to use the water bandit (synthetic chamois) for your primary drying with a good microfiber following along for clean up. You will probably also find that applicators (foam, microfiber..) should be used for applying the products instead of towels. Towels will work but would be a little on the wasteful side. Microfibers and QDs are great for removing the polish and wax residues.

There are advocates of cotton on the site but my best success has been with quality microfiber. I have no experience with the griots towels.

Don2000g
07-11-2001, 02:53 AM
Totally agree with the advice on the Water Bandit. Not many people here dry their cars with cotton towels anymore. At least most of us don`t solely rely on them. Most of us begin with a Water Bandit, Absorber, Water Sprite, even some choose the Water Blade, THEN we follow up with a cotton towel or Miracle Towel. The Miracle Towel is simply the best, nicest, plushest, softest microfiber towel of them all. A bit pricey though.

tthomp82
10-19-2009, 02:42 PM
So now I have the car all shined up and covered until the show gets here in a couple of weeks. Inevitably, the car will accumulate dust at some point or another. What is the best way to get rid of it? I have found that Quick Detailing spray tends to be kind of streaky.

Old Pirate
10-19-2009, 02:58 PM