PDA

View Full Version : Need Avice about polishing..

Altimazzz
07-13-2009, 08:39 PM
I have just recently acquired my PC7424xp. I have not used it to polish yet but have done one job of wax application with it. I was very impressed at how nice the paint looked using the machine. I put on Megs Gold Class liquid wax, then buffed it off with my Craftsman buffer and mf bonnets. Any way----I am preparing to do MY car first, it has minor swirls, nothing to bad. I have a bottle of M205 which I think will take care of my swirls. My ??? is----Do I need to strip the paint of all the waxes and other stuff before I polish?? I had planned on claying it prior of course.....Can I just use a 50/50 of Purple Power or some Simple Green to strip it??? This is my first time doing this so I am a little apprehensive about the process and dont want to screw it all the heck.....:huh::confused::confused:

imported_Luster
07-13-2009, 08:51 PM
I never strip off the old wax if I`m going to clay and polish.

Claybar should remove any wax from previous applications. The M205 + 7424XP should get the light swirls. For heavy swirls you may need to go with M105.

Good luck and take some before and after shots!

imported_glfahlc
07-13-2009, 08:59 PM
if i wanna make sure my car is completely free of any wax is to wash with dawn soap, clay it then wipe down with a 50/50 solution of isopropyl alchohol and distilled water. when you rinse that off there should be no remnants of wax left on the paint.

imported_Termigator
07-13-2009, 10:17 PM
M205 will make quick work of any wax left over from claying. IMO, there is no need to add extra steps in your process. I know a lot of people enjoy the process. I just enjoy the final result.:biggrin:

imported_RootsRadical
07-14-2009, 09:35 AM