PDA

View Full Version : Need Help

Bee97
05-25-2011, 12:16 AM
Hi this is my first post and I`m not in the detailing bussines I just like to keep my car clean and shinny. I have been reading this website for a few days and finally decided to ask a question maybe more than 1 question. I own a 97 pathfinder ( black) and now it is showing the years on the hood and on top I have been using a pc for a few years with meguiar`s yellow pads and p21s polish maybe I need different type of pads or polish. Can you guys give me some advice in what to use, thank you in advance.

Setec Astronomy
05-25-2011, 06:32 AM
Could you be a little more specific as to what "showing the years" means? Do you have any pictures? Do you know if it`s single-stage paint or clearcoat (when you polish with your PC does your pad pick up the black color from the paint--not dirt, actual paint pigment?)

RANDAL
05-25-2011, 07:40 AM
Not sure about either product you use. Id get some 6" flat pads in white and black. Then go with some Pro Polish from Poorbboys. If that doesnt get the job done get some SSR2.5 and SSR1 and use with white pads. After that try some Black Hole on the black to really bring out the bling. Top that with some Nattys BLUE, at least one layer, two is better. I forgot to say to sart with a real clean surface wash well with lots of suds, and follow that up with a clay bar and lube. Then go to the paint correction with your PC. If you have run a PC for a few years Id get a rotary and have at it. You will get a hang of it a nd the 6" pads are very nice on a rotary too. Randal in now VERY MUDDY IOWA!

Beemerboy
05-25-2011, 09:22 AM
I would like to see some pics of the paint issues you are talking about. Based on color and year, you could have some oxidation or you might have early stages of clear coat failure

Bee97
05-25-2011, 06:44 PM
Ok guys it doesn`t pick up anything on the pad and it does have a clearcoat.

Bee97
05-25-2011, 11:32 PM