PDA

View Full Version : I need your input on what to do?!?!?

DSPlati
05-02-2011, 10:54 PM
I have this new customer of mine that introduced me to his Audi today and it looked like this:
What do you recommend I do to bring back the shine? I have a PC and was thinking about using the new microfiber pads from Meg, the Cutting and Finishing pads. Can you give me some feedback on what I can use. Im kinda new to paint correction of this size.

Pats300zx
05-03-2011, 04:57 AM
Keep in mind that Audi clear is known to be extremely hard. If you are using a PC I would highly recommend the Megs MF pads with D300 and D301.

jjpcali4life
05-03-2011, 09:34 AM
I may be wrong, but the clear on that hood looks almost completely shot. Sometimes i will try something by hand in a spot to see if it will even bring a shine out of the paint.

John@Autopia-Carcare.com
05-03-2011, 10:11 AM
That would certainly be a test for any product. From the looks of it, I may concur with jjpcali.
I would ask the client if the car has been in an accident, and repainted or, if those are replacement parts from a junkyard or something of the sort. The fact that the trunk isn`t remotely close to the rest of the car is certainly suspicious. Since you`re new to this level of paint defect, ask him/her as many questions as you can before you attempt anything at this car. You don`t want the blame pointed at you for anything.

Good luck

Beemerboy
05-03-2011, 10:19 AM
The marring is not going to come out with just a PC no matter how much you work it. Those are pretty bad IMO. Only a rotary would really level the marring I see in the hood pic

The biggest issue you have with the hood is the base coat and clear coat are failing. That`s the cloudiness you are seeing, nothing but a repaint can correct that.

However you can improve the look of the clear somewhat but that cloudy looking finish is not going to go away.

DSPlati
05-03-2011, 11:41 PM