PDA

View Full Version : Test Spot - The story behind the story...

Mike Phillips
03-12-2010, 01:09 PM
Test Spot - The story behind the story... (http://www.autopiaforums.com/forums/autogeek-net-sponsored-forum/28540-test-spot-story-behind-story.html)

I was actually researching for the first time I used the term LSP and RIDS on the Autopia.org forum and ran across the story about why and how I came to coin the term Test Spot.

Here`s the link to the thread, dated 03-04-04 with the story...

Swirls on Black Paint (http://www.autopia.org/forum/car-detailing/33827-swirls-black-pics.html)

hey guys... here`s my story... rock hit the hood, made some damage... took it to the dealer for a repair and now I`m stuck with a bad case of swirls...

i am a rookie a detailing.. and my car is a daily driver... i know i am not going to get perfection on a black daily driver... but i can get close right??

i don`t have a plan... so i would appreciate if you guys can provide me with one... the only thing i know is that i am planing on doing it my self and that i will probably get a porter cable...

please guys help me with a plan...and product list ( rookie here so easy on the abbreviations) .

here are the pics.. enjoy!!!

Hi schrader,

From the picture, they look fairly light. How hard they are to remove will depend upon,

Paint hardness
Swirl depth

After you decide you plan of attack, do a "Test Spot" .

Apply your products, using your application materials and choice of application procedure, (rotary, PC, hand), to one small area. Work all the way from beginning to your final wax, or last step product. Then inspect in both indoor lighting and outdoor lighting.

If the results look good... then repeat the process to the entire car. If you are not seeing the results you`re looking for, then stop and re-evaluate your plan of attack.

If you cannot make one small area look good with your choice of products and procedures, then you will not be able to make the entire car look good.