PDA

View Full Version : Chrome

nate
03-06-2004, 09:28 PM
I`ve tried a couple diffent thing for the chrome just wondering what everybody uses. Also on Harley`s the non chromed parts of the engine any tips on getting those clean. the rough surface is hard as hell to keep looking good

JimS
03-07-2004, 09:37 AM
I like Poorboys Polish w/carnuba or Pro Polish.

tguil
03-07-2004, 11:50 AM
Usually on the chrome, I just use a good cleaner wax. It will remove anything that washing does not. S100 Cleaner is the best cleaner for non-chrome engine parts. I do not use it on the painted surfaces. Because S100 wax is so easy ro use, I apply it to the tank and fenders after almost every ride. Often I apply it to the chrome also. I remove any swirls with Meguiars #82 or Harley Gloss. The frame, etc. receives a good coat of sealant, usually Meguiars MPPP.

Most Harley dealerships have a complete line of Harley detailing products.

(I may be "new in town", but I have been detailing for over 40 years. :) )

Tom :cool

dalmore
03-07-2004, 12:50 PM
Love the sig! Your math is dead on! Which bring up a question - what is your experience with quick wash products along the lines of the CCD (California Car Duster) and Kovak`s Dry Wash Cloth (hope I remembered that name well enough to suffice). How about Spray n` Wipe and other waterless washes? I suspect you`ve tried a few of them...

TIA!

tguil
03-07-2004, 04:31 PM
I NEVER do anything less than a complete wash and I usually use a QD after each wash. I just don`t trust the California Duster or the QEW process on a dry vehicle. I don`t get just a little dust from my road, I get layers of it.

I am one very careful old guy. Until last summer, I had never used a sealant. I always used pure carnauba waxes or cleaner waxes.

nate
03-07-2004, 06:47 PM
I worked all day on the chrome and I think it came out pretty good

nate
03-07-2004, 06:48 PM
another

tguil
03-07-2004, 10:33 PM
Nate,