PDA

View Full Version : Pet door, yes or no?

CharlesW
08-17-2007, 05:16 PM
Hey, it is the off topic forum, right?
My daughter is buying a townhouse/condominium with a single attached garage. She would like to install a pet door in the passageway door between the kitchen and the garage and keep the litter box for their two cats in the garage.
The garage has three walls common to heated areas and the door is insulated and appears to seal pretty good.
I`m considering buying a cheap interior door to cut into rather than destroy the nice metal one that is there now.

What drawbacks are likely to be involved in this project?

It`s in Iowa with temps from -20 to + 100, but I`m sure the garage temperature would never be close to either extreme.

Gonna be gone for a day or three so I won`t see any replies until Sunday evening.

Charles

audiboy
08-17-2007, 05:23 PM
My major issue with them is their security risk. Yes, I`m one of the people that lock the door to the garage. The metal door leading to the garage is a pretty good insulator and the electricity bill will be noticeably higher if you swap it out for an interior door. The interior door is really thin and won`t create a seal at the floor. It is also a huge security risk having that type of door as an exterior door.

norahcrv
08-17-2007, 05:54 PM
My major issue with them is their security risk. Yes, I`m one of the people that lock the door to the garage. The metal door leading to the garage is a pretty good insulator and the electricity bill will be noticeably higher if you swap it out for an interior door. The interior door is really thin and won`t create a seal at the floor. It is also a huge security risk having that type of door as an exterior door. . . . also, it might be against fire regulations!! :eek:

BlueZero
08-17-2007, 08:04 PM
. . . also, it might be against fire regulations!! :eek:

You need a 20 min. fire rated door and frame. But I really don`t think you would get caught.

Pockets
08-17-2007, 08:27 PM