PDA

View Full Version : Confused???

KC Steve
10-19-2006, 01:52 PM
I am new to the whole PC detailing thing and am looking for direction regarding which products are a best fit for purpose.

My truck is a black 2005 with mico-marring due to previous washing and drying techniques and some minor scuffs or light scatches (dog nails). I have purchased Edge 2000 6" DA pads and currently have (but not used) the Mequiar`s DC steps 1 and 2 and NXT wax.

Does this seem like a reasonable start for a first timer given the condition of the paint. It is outside 24/7, I plan to wash and clay the vehicle first.

Thanks for your patience as I have searched and read but I get real confused by all the product options.

Steve

GearHead_1
10-19-2006, 02:09 PM
I am new to the whole PC detailing thing and am looking for direction regarding which products are a best fit for purpose.

My truck is a black 2005 with mico-marring due to previous washing and drying techniques and some minor scuffs or light scatches (dog nails). I have purchased Edge 2000 6" DA pads and currently have (but not used) the Mequiar`s DC steps 1 and 2 and NXT wax.

Does this seem like a reasonable start for a first timer given the condition of the paint. It is outside 24/7, I plan to wash and clay the vehicle first.

Thanks for your patience as I have searched and read but I get real confused by all the product options.

Steve
It isn`t a bad start at all. You`ve picked a good machine and Meguiars makes decent products too. Depending upon how badly the vehicle`s marring is you may find that you need to step up to a more aggressive polish than what comes in their 123 kit. You also didn`t say what color pad you have. By the way Edge pads are my favorites. Often times beginners start with the wrong pad for the intended purpose. The end result is that they make more work for themselves. Knowing this will give others a chance for some real qualified feed back.

KC Steve
10-19-2006, 03:40 PM